I would tell Her about You

When my daughter comes home telling how a boy asked for her name, I would tell her about you. When she comes home sharing how this boy told her she’s beautiful and how this made her smile, I would tell her about you. When she feels conscious of how she should present herself- the way she dresses, laughs, walks, or even fixes her hair, I would tell her about you. When she checks her phones from time to time and giggles every time this boy would send a message, I would tell her about you. When she decides to sleep late at night just to talk with this boy, I would tell her about you. When the time comes when she cries because the boy no longer replies, I would still tell her about you. When she becomes wretched because the “no replies” becomes “no longer in my life,” I would still tell her about you. And if one day she asks “Why,” I would simply, once again, tell her about you- the boy I met and loved, but never became man enough.

Leave a Reply

