Sweet and Meaty Mac and Cheese

Last Friday, my husband and I watched Masterchef’s sixth episode where the contestants cooked mac and cheese. Not that I’m a fan of mac and cheese, but I got inspired, so I cooked my own version yesterday! 🙂

It was my first time to cook, so I did not experiment much with the ingredients and flavors; I played safe. Hihi

Here are the ingredients:

2 cups macaroni

1 cup group pork

2 tbsp butter

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 cup Angel Kremdensada

1/2 cup bacon (for toppings)

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 10.35.44 AM

Some of the ingredients (L-R Macaroni, cheese, Kremdensada, and butter)

When all of these are prepared, it’s time to do the step-by-step cooking:

1. Cook the macaroni following the instruction seen on its wrapper. Normally, it would just ask you to boil water with oil and salt. When the water boils, it’s time to add the macaroni. Continue to boil and stir occasionally for five to ten minutes. Strain then set aside.

2. Fry the ground pork (seasoned with salt and pepper) and bacon using its own oil. Ground porks and bacons contain a lot of oil, so I’d rather maximize these than add. This way, I can save on oil and eat less of them. 🙂 When done, set aside.

3. In a heated pan, mix the butter, cheddar cheese, and Angel Kemdensada until the cheese is liquid. This is the cheese mixture. Since it was my first time, I only used low fire. I fear burnt food!

4. Add the cooked macaroni to the cheese mixture. Mix well. Afterwards, add the fried ground pork. Mix again. Upon serving, top the mac and cheese with the fried bacon.

FullSizeRender 8

Sweet and Meaty Mac & Cheese! Yuuuum!

I do not have photos while cooking because my multi-tasking skills while cooking are very poor. Haha. Nonetheless, there you have it! My very own sweet and meaty mac and cheese! This generously serves six people. The total cost would be around P350, but there would be a lot of left overs from the ingredients (since they cannot be bought tingi), which could cook another batch.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

